Ghostbusters (2016) Review

Ghostbusters was released last week in France and I went to see it yesterday, the reboot of the film of the same name from 1984. I won’t try to compare the two movies in my review because that’s useless, I’m seeing the movie for what it is, it’s its own movie. The team of Ghostbusters from this reboot is four women played by Melissa McCarthy, Kristen Wiig, Kate McKinnon, Leslie Jones and there’s also Chris Hemsworth who plays the receptionist of the team.

When I first saw the trailers, I wasn’t sure whether it was going to be good, not because it was a reboot of Ghostbusters (I saw the original and I liked it but that’s it, I didn’t mind that a reboot was happening and I especially liked that in this reboot it was announced the team was going to be four women instead of four men) but because I thought the trailers weren’t that interesting. So I was actually quite surprised when I saw the movie because it is really good, it’s funny and refreshing. The movie never stops with its jokes, it always keeps coming from funny situations to funny situations, and I really like that.

The cast is a great selection of actors, McCarthy and Wiig are awesome in their roles, as usual when they star in comedies, they’re always funny, they’re really the ones carrying the movie. I didn’t know Leslie Jones and she’s great as well! The disappointment I have about this movie is Kate McKinnon who is overacting at times which is annoying because the rest of the cast really fits. And then there is Chris Hemsworth who plays the hot guy who is completely dumb (his lines are just hilarious!), he was the right choice for the role, he does that superbly and his dance scene in the ending credits is excellent! Hemsworth also gets to play the villain near the end when the big villain possesses his character and he’s really great in that as well! There’s also some cameos like Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Ernie Hudson and Sigourney Weaver from the original movie which was nice to see.

Visually, there’s stunning special effects, the ghosts are really well done, it’s what you would expect from today’s movies. Paul Feig and Katie Dippold came up with an exciting script. There’s absolutely no dull moment, it’s always humorous and entertaining, there’s a lot of killer lines, top-notch comedy! The writers have done their job, I love it! The opening scene sends us right into the story with this paranormal activity in the house. The story is Abigail (played by McCarthy), Jillian (played by McKinnon) who study paranormal ghost activities while Erin (played by Wiig), Abigail’s former friend who wrote a book about ghosts is working at Columbia university until she is fired because when she went to confront Abigail about their book that has been re-published they go study ghosts and film it, that’s where the story starts, the group gets together to study the ghosts and they hire Kevin (played by Hemsworth) to be their receptionist, Patty (played by Jones) later joins the group after they investigate the ghost she found in the subway, then it’s all ghost hunting and it’s so much fun!

8/10 An hilarious movie lead by a great cast, it doesn’t disappoint at all, it’s always entertaining!

13516422_1038437462876921_8292192117131544124_n

Leave a comment